Electoral Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Electoral Board for the City of Charlottesville is a three member board appointed by the Charlottesville Circuit Court Judges to a staggered, three-year term beginning March 1st.  Appointments are based on nominations from the local committees of the two political parties which received the most votes statewide in the most recent gubernatorial election. The Governor's party has two representatives on the Board and the party receiving the next highest number of votes has one representative. The Electoral Board is charged with conducting elections in Charlottesville and certifying the results.


The next meeting of the Board will take place in the office of the Charlottesville General Registrar at 5:45 PM on Wednesday, February 5, 2020.

To receive email notifications of Electoral Board meetings, send an email to vote@charlottesville.org using the subject line "add to meeting notifications."  Include your name, address, zip code, daytime telephone number, preferred electronic mail address and organization, if any. You may ask to be removed from the list at any time by sending an email to the same address or in response to a notice. [Code of VA § 2.2-3707(E), Virginia Freedom of Information Act]

Electoral Board Members:

Chair: Anne Hemenway  (link to send email)  hemenwayan@charlottesville.org

Vice Chair: Jon Bright  (link to send email)  brightjo@charlottesville.org

Secretary: Jim Nix  (link to send email) nixj@charlottesville.org

          Mailing address: Charlottesville Electoral Board, P.O. Box 1219, Charlottesville, VA 22902

Meeting Agendas

Agendas for upcoming meetings will be posted when available.  The agenda is removed when draft minutes for that meeting are posted.

Draft Minutes:


Draft minutes are removed when approved minutes are posted. Minutes below were approved without changes (may be still marked as "draft" in the document). 

Approved Minutes:




To view archived minutes click here.

Historical minutes not available in the electronic archive, are available for inspection in the Voter Registration Office during office hours. Electronic copies are also available for the most recent years.  Email your request to vote@charlottesville.org or call  434-970-3250.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer