Release of Criminal History Information
The Charlottesville Police Department does not release criminal history information to non-law enforcement personnel. But, criminal history information in Virginia can be obtained as follows:
Go to the Virginia State Police web site (www.vsp.state.va.us). Download and complete Virginia State Police Form, SP-167. Mail this form along with a check in the amount of $15.00 payable to Virginia State Police:
Virginia State Police
Records Management Division
Central Criminal Records Exchange
P.O. Box C-85076
Richmond, Virginia 23261-5076
Visit the Court that had jurisdiction over where the offense occurred and request the information you seek from the clerk of court.
Search the Virginia Supreme Court Case Management Case System (www.courts.state.va.us)
-Go to case information. Select the type of court you want to check (District Court, Circuit Court, etc.).
-Click on the drop down menu and find the county of the court you want to check.
-Select the type of information you are seeking (traffic, criminal, or civil).
-Type in the last name (and first name, if known) and click search.
-If in the system, the name will appear along with those names closest to it alphabetically.
-Click on the main menu whenever you want to go back as the back button does
not work on this system.
A Reportable Offense is one where a person was fingerprinted or photographed.
A Non-reportable Offense is one where a person was not fingerprinted or photographed
Effective November 6, 2009, the Charlottesville Police Department will no longer provide fingerprinting services to the public.
The following agencies currently provide fingerprint services:
- Albemarle County Sheriff's Office (FRIDAYS 0800-1200 hrs.)
$10 first card, $5 each additional card, walk-in only, cash only
- UVA Police Department (Appointment only)
Students, faculty, and staff only, must have own card, $10 cash-exact change
Questions can be directed to 434-970-3280
To Obtain a Copy of a Police Report
Office hours are seven days a week from 8AM to 8PM. The building is locked after hours, but a Police Record Specialist is always available at the front window for emergencies needing police assistance.
Requests for copies of reports must be made in person between the hours of 8:30AM and 4:30PM. Dissemination of incident reports (“public copy”) is restricted to the recorded victim(s). Dissemination of accident reports is restricted to any person involved or injured in the accident or his attorney, or any authorized representative of any insurance carrier reasonably anticipating exposure to civil liability as a consequence of the accident. Proper Identification must be provided.
Law offices and insurance carriers may request and receive reports by mail, but must first have a letter on file listing agents authorized to receive report copies. A signed release from the person being represented must accompany each request.
• Public copy of Incident Report - $10
• Copy of Accident Report - $15