City Hall will be closed to the public until at least April 12th.  Our COVID-19 resource page has City operational updates. Follow our health experts for Coronavirus updates from the Thomas Jefferson Health District's and Virginia Department of Health website.

Charlottesville-Albemarle Children's Services Act

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


About the Children's Services Act (CSA)

The Children's Services Act (formerly known as the Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and Families) is a 1993 Virginia Law that provides for the pooling of eight specific funding streams used to purchase services for high-risk youth. These funds are returned to the localities with a required state/local match and are managed by local interagency teams. The purpose of CSA is to provide high quality, child-centered, family-focused, cost-effective, community-based services to high-risk youth and their families.




THE NEXT MEETING WILL BE December 18, 2019


Community Policy and Management Team (CPMT)

The Albemarle CPMT will meet jointly with the Charlottesville CPMT once a month to conduct business related to the Comprehensive Services Act (CSA). The CPMT is the responsible entity for all CSA policies and programs to ensure accordance with all state mandates and local CSA policies. The CPMT is responsible for the following tasks: establish policies and procedures that govern the provision of services to children and families in the community and access to CSA funds; develop and appoint members to subcommittees, including the Family Assessment and Planning Team, in order to accomplish CSA requirements; collect and report data to the Office of Comprehensive Services, State Executive Council, and Department of Behavioral Health & Developmental Services regarding youth and families served through CSA; manage and administer CSA funds for the respective locality; coordinate planning that ensures the development and procurement of resources and services needed by children and families in the community; establish quality assurance and accountability procedures for program utilization and funds management.

The CPMT meets on the third Wednesday of every month at 3:30 p.m.  The meeting is located at the Albemarle County Office Building – 401 McIntire Road, 2nd floor, Room 235. Meetings are open to the public.

 Albemarle CPMT Members:

  • Phyllis Savides, Chair, Albemarle County Social Services Representative
  • Lori Allshouse, County Representative
  • Suzanne Fladd, Albemarle County School Division Representative
  • Lisa Beitz, Community Services Board Representative
  • Martha Carroll, Sixteenth District Court Services Unit Representative
  • Erin Callas, Department of Health Representative
  • Tarn Singh, Private Provider Representative

Charlottesville CPMT Members:

  • Kaki Dimock, Chair, Community Attention Representativ
  • Diane Kuknyo, City of Charlottesville Social Services Representative
  • Mike Murphy, City Representative
  • Katrina Lee, City of Charlottesville School Division Representative
  • Martha Carroll, Sixteenth District Court Services Unit Representative
  • Lisa Beitz, Community Services Board Representative
  • Erin Callas, Department of Health Representative
  • Michael Costanzo, Private Provider Representative

Program Subcommittee

The Program Subcommittee is the lead committee to monitor the implementation of CSA services and identify needs for new resources and service gaps in our community. The Program Subcommittee is responsible for the following tasks: develop a system to obtain feedback from stakeholders about service and resource gaps on an ongoing basis; provide analysis on the gaps identified, prioritize the gaps and develop a plan to address the gaps; ensure that the FAPT process is in keeping with the expectations of the OCS Family Engagement Policy; oversee the implementation of the Family Engagement and Community Practice models as outlined in the OCS and CPMT policy including development and deployment of related training; obtain regular feedback regarding the work of partner agencies to ensure family-driven and strengths based practices are in place; charge ad-hoc work groups as necessary to further the work of the committee.

The Program Subcommittee meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 2:00 p.m. The meeting is located at the Albemarle County Office Building – 5th Street Extended, Room C. Meetings are open to the public.

 Program Subcommittee Members:

  • Suzanne Fladd, Chair, Albemarle County Schools  
  • Jenny Jones, Charlottesville Department of Social Service
  • Mary Stebbins, Albemarle Department of Social Services
  • Garrett Jones, Community Attention
  • Neta Davis, Region Ten Community Services Board
  • Jodie Murphy, Charlottesville City Schools
  • Martha Carroll, 16th District Court Services Unit


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer