Members

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

 

City of Charlottesville Board of Architectural Review (BAR) Members

 

 

Name and Address

 

Expertise

 

Telephone #

 

Date Appointed

 

Date of Expiration

 

SCHWARZ, Carl

Tenth & Page Neighborhood

 

 Licensed Architect 

 

(417) 540-1791 (c) 

caschwarz83@gmail.com 

 

1/1/2014

 

1/1/2018

 

SARAFIN, Justin

Tenth & Page Neighborhood

 

Historian

 

(434) 260-1804  (c)

Justin.sarafin@alumni.virginia.edu

 

1/1/2013

Reappointed
1/1/2016

 

1/1/2020

 

GRAVES, Whit

Martha Jefferson Neighborhood

 
Owner of a business or commercial property in a design control district

 

434-220-1467 (o)

434-977-2652 (Fax)

434-531-3591 (c)

Whit@evergreenbuilds.com

 

11/07/2011

Reappointed
1/01/2014

 

1/1/2018

 

MILLER, Melanie, Chair

Martha Jefferson Neighborhood

 

Owner of a residential property or a resident in a design control district

 

(434) 242-0745 (o/h)

melanie@houseofmillers.com

 

9/19/2011

Reappointed
1/1/2016

 

1/1/2020

 

GASTINGER, Breck

North Downtown Neighborhood

 

Landscape Architect 

 

(434) 242 -9756 (c)
(434) 984 -1358 (w)

bgastinger@gmail.com 

 

2/6/2017

 

 

/1/2021

 CLAYBORNE, Corey

Belmont Neighborhood

 

Planning Commission Member

 

(804) 677-0463 (m)
(804) 200-1704 (w)

 corey.clayborne@gmail.com

 

 9/29/2016

 

Planning Commission elects annually

 

EARNST, Emma

Belmont Neighborhood

 

Historian

 

(434) 997-7550 ext. 394 (o)

earnst.emma@gmail.com

 

3/1/62015

Reappointed
1/1/2016

1/1/2020

 

BALUT, Stephen

North Downtown Neighborhood

 

Owner of a business or commercial property in a design control district

 

(571) 228-9279 (o)

sbalut@hotmail.com

 

3/7/2016

 

1/1/2020

 

 

MOHR, Tim,
Vice-Chair

Locust Grove Neighborhood

 

 

Licensed Architect

 

(434 ) 971-4631 (o)

tmohr@tmdarch.com

 

1/1/2012

Reappointed
1/1/2014

 

1/1/2018











 

Date/Time: 3rd Tuesday of each month -- 5:30 p.m.

Place: City Council Chambers Term: 4 Years - Full Term



Membership: 9 - Appointed by City Council in the following categories

-(2) Licensed Architects: Tim Mohr and Carl Schwarz

-(1) Planning Commission Member: Corey Clayborne

-(2) Owner of a business or commercial property in a design control district: Whit Graves and Stephen Balut

-(1) Owner of residential property or resident in a design control district: Melanie Miller

-(2) Historians or substantial background in history or preservation: Justin Sarafin and Emma Earnst

-(1) Landscape architect or licensed professional contractor: Breck Gastinger







 

STAFF CONTACT: Mary Joy Scala. Preservation & Design Planner, Department of Neighborhood Development Services scala@charlottesville.org (434) 970-3130 or FAX (434) 970-3359